Public Safety

Public Works

(772) 288-1292

"Because of Public Works ... "


Artist, Jannie Ho

Welcome to the City of Stuart Public Works Department. The Public Works Department works 24 hours a day, 365 days a year to ensure smooth running, reliable service to residents and businesses.

The Public Works Department is made up of 3 Divisions under the direction of the Public Works Director. Each Division has a variety of responsibilities, which are highlighted below.

Residents, business owners and local dignitaries took part in the brief ceremony for the recently upgraded water reclamation facility.

Sailfish SculptureAdministration Division

The Public Works Administrative Division is composed of the Director, the Capital Projects Coordinator, the Public Works Inspector, and administrative support staff. The Division provides technical and clerical support to divisions within Public Works. In addition, all capital projects and new developments are closely monitored for compliance with the applicable standards and specifications.

Stormwater Crew
Operations Division

The Operations Division is responsible for maintenance of streets, the storm sewer system, swales, sidewalks, related appurtenances located within the City owned right-of way, parks, playgrounds, municipal grounds, ball fields, downtown streetscape, and maintenance and repair of all municipal buildings.

City of Stuart Water Tower

Utility Division

The City's Utility Division is responsible for the overall operation of the water and wastewater systems, solid waste and recycling collection services to all residential and commercial properties within the City, and fleet maintenance to all municipal equipment.


© City of Stuart * 121 SW Flagler Ave. Stuart Fl. 34994 * 772-288-5300